Illegal medicines How dangerous are they?

As a consumer, cheap bargains and 'miracle cures' without side effects are hard to resist. But illegal sellers do not fully disclose the ingredients in their product, and any information they actually DO provide might not be substantiated or is entirely fabricated. These ingredients may be harmful or fatal to consumers.

Buyers Beware

Consumers are advised not to risk their health for the sake of convenience or lower prices by purchasing medicines from dubious online sources, or from back alley peddlers, door-to-door salesmen and word of mouth testimonials.

Medicines purchased from these sources pose very high risk of being counterfeit or adulterated with undeclared substances that may cause serious harm to consumers. The dangers are especially high if the products are prescription drugs which should only be taken under close medical supervision.

For more advice on buying health products, please click here.

The Cost of Illegal Medicines? Your life.

With illegal medicines being available via alternative sources such as the Internet, makeshift stalls or even through referrals, there are more cases of consumers suffering from the harmful effects of consuming such medicines, which can be fatal.

Many elderly patients rely on a mixture of traditional beliefs and hearsay to try and find cures. Unfortunately, this has come to the attention of unscrupulous manufacturers, sellers and importers. They cash in on unsuspecting consumers to produce counterfeit or adulterated medicines and sell them at low costs.

Be wary of illegal products being peddled in the market. Play an active role in educating the people around you about the dangers of purchasing medicines from dubious sources. Do not let yourself or your loved ones be their next victim.

Case Study 1

In August 2012, a Malay woman in her 70s was hospitalised after taking 'Flutulang', an illegal medicine posed as a traditional cure for rheumatism. The drug contained two undeclared medicinal ingredients, phenylbutazone1 and chlorpheniramine2.

The woman assumed the product was safe because her relative took it without any adverse effect. Unfortunately, she developed a severe skin condition and eventually passed away.

Case Study 2

In July 2012, HSA alerted members of the public to several illegal adulterated capsules that were sold as traditional herbal medicines to treat arthritic and joint pain, as well as promote blood circulation. Samples of these capsules were tested and found to contain an undeclared potent substance, dexamethasone1.

The reported cases involved patients aged between 40 and 80 years, and affected both men and women. One of the cases included an 80-year-old man who was in critical condition after he took the capsules and had to be warded in the Intensive Care Unit for complications from chronic unsupervised steroid consumption.

非法药品
危险重重

身为消费者,我们常对便宜又能药到病除、自称不含副作用的“万灵丹”毫无招架之力。然而,非法药贩通常都会对他们所销售的产品成分,三缄其口或含糊带过,根本不足采信。这些捏造的说明, 一般上都不会告诉消费者有关产品的重要资料,如药品含有哪些成分,而很多时候,这些不明成分就很可能危害健康,甚至导致死亡!

明眼识人、小心买药!

当个明智的消费者,千万不要为了一时方便或省钱,向来路不明的药贩购买药品,因小失大。许多无良药贩最常现身在小巷里的路边摊,或是以上门兜售的推销员身份,以及通过亲友口耳相传的介绍方式,蒙骗消费者。

来路不明的非法药品,其中很有可能掺入未经申报、对健康有害的成份,一些甚至是假药。 而且在无正确监控的情况下,自行服用未经医生或医师监督或开单的处方药是非常危险的。

查阅探知更多购买药品的建议。

服食非法药品的代价?赔上性命!

随着资讯与科技发达,透过管道如互联网,自行购买药品的消费者逐渐上升。正因为容易取得,也间接导致消费者常误食含有禁药成分的伪劣药物。令人担心的是,近年来也有越来越多非法药贩,以患有慢性病痛的老人家为对象,把非法伪劣止痛药假冒成传统成药来贩售,最终导致严重后果,甚至死亡。

许多长年在家的长辈们,对偏方或口耳相传的药品深信不疑。不幸的是,这也成了无良药贩有机可乘之处。他们把毫无戒心的消费者视为肥羊,以低价来贩售非法药品,骗老人家上钩。

消费者有必要了解这些非法药品的危险。言行身教最有效,经常提醒身边的家人亲友,别擅自服用来路不明的药品。千万不要让您至爱的家人,成为下一个无辜的受害者。

案例一

2012年8月,一名70多岁的马来妇女在服用 “Flutulang” 后被紧急送院治疗。“Flutulang” 是一种被当作治疗风湿的违例传统药品,并含有两种未经申报的药物成分 - 保泰松 (phenylbutazone)1 和扑尔敏(chlorpheniramine)2

服药妇女以为,药品由于是透过自己的亲友介绍,服食者并没出现任何不妥或副作用,所以应该很安全。然而,不幸的是,这名马来妇女在服药后,不仅颈项和大腿出现红疹,而且还恶化为中毒性表皮坏死松解症,最后更不幸去世。

案例二

2012年7月,卫生科学局对公众发布提醒,市面上出现了据说能治疗风湿及关节痛,又能促进血液循环的非法药丸。当这些药品样本经过化验后,发现含有未经申报西药成分 - 地塞米松(dexamethasone )1

这些被揭发的病患个案,大部分是年龄介于40-80岁的中老年人,男女皆有。其中一宗个案所涉及的80岁男病患,更是因为在未经医生的诊治下,擅自长期服用含有类固醇的药物,结果陷入病危,被紧急送入医院急救。